4ds files hacked

This is for general discussion about Hidden & Dangerous 2, talk about what you liked or what you didn't like about the sequel. Talk about multiplayer games, setup matches etc.
hdmaster
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by hdmaster » Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:11 pm

Did you change the installation folder manually or is it the one the installer has taken?
The correct path for the installer should be "drive:\...\3ds Max Design 2010"

User avatar
JonnySniper
Lieutenant
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by JonnySniper » Sat Sep 03, 2011 9:34 pm

of course, i insert manuelly the main folder.
C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\3ds Max Design 2010
www.object-arts.de.tl
Idee := Brain.Activate(self);

hdmaster
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by hdmaster » Sun Sep 04, 2011 8:37 am

Hm strange, then it should copy the files to the correct place...

Copy everything from '3ds Max Design 2010\4ds Tools\Scripts\Startup' to '3ds Max Design 2010\Scripts\Startup', '3ds Max Design 2010\4ds Tools\Scripts\H&D 2' to '3ds Max Design 2010\Scripts\H&D 2' and
'3ds Max Design 2010\4ds Tools\stdplugs\stdscripts\' to  '3ds Max Design 2010\stdplugs\stdscripts\'

User avatar
JonnySniper
Lieutenant
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by JonnySniper » Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:39 am

ok, at the startup it shows me alot of errors like that.

http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/387/errornu.jpg

when i click on OK then the next error with "Bolean" etc. comes.
www.object-arts.de.tl
Idee := Brain.Activate(self);

hdmaster
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by hdmaster » Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:51 pm

I got the same problem when i tried to adapt the scripts for GMAX. It's a bug caused by the editor of 3ds Max 2011 I guess. You can try this version

https://rapidshare.com/files/3323018914 ... ls_2.1.exe
Last edited by hdmaster on Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JonnySniper
Lieutenant
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by JonnySniper » Sun Sep 04, 2011 3:41 pm

same error without any HD2 button.
www.object-arts.de.tl
Idee := Brain.Activate(self);

hdmaster
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by hdmaster » Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:02 pm

Are you sure you installed it directly into the 3ds Max Design root folder? In your case, the scripts MUST be installed to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\3ds Max Design 2010" without adding any subdirectories like "4ds Tools".

User avatar
JonnySniper
Lieutenant
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 11:33 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by JonnySniper » Sun Sep 04, 2011 6:46 pm

yes sure,
i select "C:\Program Files (x86)\Autodesk\3ds Max Design 2010"
maybe you install max 2010 too on 64bit system as 32bit app =)
www.object-arts.de.tl
Idee := Brain.Activate(self);

User avatar
Marvin (hun)
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:01 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by Marvin (hun) » Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:01 pm

Hi Guys!

I have a bin-file-problem. I want to make a new version for my old hungarian translate, and I would like to increase the size of some lines, because the "english-size" is too small for the "hungarian-size"

I realized that every line has an own sign (letter, number, different signs...etc.) which marks the size of the text. Here is a pic from the start of the file Dialogs_DD.bin:
Image

So every line which start with "6" (I signed it with red) has same size, ends with NUL (below the red arrow), I checked it in the whole file + in other lang files.

For example I would like to change the size of the first line to "E"-long (marked with green), I change the "6" to "E", and I increase the size like at the case of "E", but the game is crashing. Sadly I don't know what do the other signs mean. I think the first signs mark the "place" of the dialog in the file (or game) but the end of the lines (after the arrows) are completely unknown to me.

Do you have any idea? Thanks!



+Thanks for the new release hdmaster! I built a new hill for you in Ardennes:
Image

The collisons don't work yet, when I went into the hill, I found a hole. What can I do with that new icons in 3dsmax? I clicked on them, but nothing happened. I use  3dsmax 2010 32 bit
Last edited by Marvin (hun) on Tue Sep 06, 2011 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
betteryouthanme
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by betteryouthanme » Tue Sep 06, 2011 5:31 pm

followed the ReadMe, removed all old files, installed new 4ds script but i can't see any HD2 button in my 3dMax.
Using 3dMax 2011 german 32-bit
I'm lost..

hdmaster
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by hdmaster » Wed Sep 07, 2011 2:07 pm

@Marvin:

Use a hexeditor to modify binary files.

These files are chunk based, which means that the file is divided into different data blocks. Each block has an ID (2 Bytes long), that tells you what's inside this block, a length descriptor (4 Bytes long), that tells you how many bytes the block contains, and finally the actual data.

So one chunk looks like this

[ID:2 Bytes][Length:4 Bytes][Data: = length - ID length (2) - descriptor length (4))

Image

The first chunk in Dialogs_DD.bin has the ID 0xC409 (yellow) and the length of that block is 69.592 Bytes (0xD80F0100; blue) which is equal to the filesize. The data of the main chunk is basically the whole file.

Now the important chunks for you have the ID 0xC609 (red), 0xC709 (orange), and 0xC809 (green). Every red block indicates a new text entry. The length of the first text entry is here 0x4B000000 which is 75 in decimal. Now count the bytes from this red block, starting from 0xC6 until 0x00, just before the next red block. It's 75 bytes long, what a surprise :D So the orange, red and green block are the content (children) of the red chunk.

The 0xC809 block (green) finally contains the text (black). "NEUE AUFGABE: VERMINEN SIE DIE U-BOOTE IN DEN DOCKS." is 52 bytes long, but you also have to add the 0x00 byte, because all strings are zero-terminated here. So the content of the green block is actually 53 bytes long. With the ID length (2) and the descriptor length (4) we have a total size of 59 bytes which is again equal to the size of the green text block (size: 0x3B000000 = 59 in decimal).


So if you want to modify the first text entry you have to (depending on how many bytes/signs you add or remove):
  • Adjust the length of the 0xC409 block. It's length should be equal to the filesize
  • Modify the length of the red block the text belongs to.
  • Modify the length of the green block that contains the text

Here's an example. I replace "NEUE AUFGABE: VERMINEN SIE DIE U-BOOTE IN DEN DOCKS." with "This is an example."

First I count the length of the new text: 19. Then I add +1 because of the terminating 0x00: 20. Then I have to add the ID length and descriptor length.
Now i have a bytes count of 26 bytes which is 0x1A000000 in hex. You can use the windows calculator to convert from hex to decimal and vice versa, just switch to the programmer view, View -> Programmer or press [ALT]+[3].


At first i change the size of the green block to the new size. I replace 0x3B000000 with 0x1A000000.

Image

Then i can easily count how long the total text entry is (from 0xC609 till the terminating 0x00). It's 42 bytes long. So I replace 0x4B000000 with 42 (0x2A000000).

Image

Finally i change the size of the main chunk. From 69592 (0xD80F0100) to 69559 (0xB70F0100).

Image


@betteryouthanme

You could try removing all existing HD2 menus. To do so click 'Customize' -> 'Customize User Interface' -> 'Menus'. Then in the left listbox with the label 'Menus' search for menus named 'HD 2' and delete all of them. Then restart 3ds Max

User avatar
Marvin (hun)
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:01 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by Marvin (hun) » Wed Sep 07, 2011 8:10 pm

//EDIT: When I use the wincalculator, for the 69559 (in Dec) I got "1 0FB7" not "B70F0100" (I see that uses same values, but in different form. Can you help me with the Hex values of 50 & 150? I counted "32" for the 50, and "96" for the 150. Is it correct?




Thank you so much hdmaster! I tried it and it's worked.

It's a bit too difficult to me (yes, i couldn't use the win-calculator to count the values: 4words, bytes...etc.?) and I think it needs very-very long time to calculate every line, but I have a better idea:

1.
The best would be if I modify every line (what I want to increase) to 135 bytes long. It must be enough for every line, I'll fill with spaces the unused parts of the lines. I saw in an other line which has 135 bytes, the value after the "C8 09" is: "8E 00 00 00"

2.
I check the distance from the "C6 09" to the 00

3.
After it I need only to modify the length of the whole file (tell me if I am wrong)
Last edited by Marvin (hun) on Fri Sep 09, 2011 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
betteryouthanme
Lieutenant
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 1:37 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by betteryouthanme » Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:38 am

Had to add the import/export menu manually, now it works. Great work hdmaster! thup01
  • Could you explain me what "occluders" are and the function of "hide sector" in the settings script?
  • There seems to be still some export problems with stairs? At least for Libya3:
    10-09-2011 09-47-01.jpg
    10-09-2011 09-47-01.jpg (52.24 KiB) Viewed 9270 times
@Jason
If there's still a post by me to approve, you can delete it.

User avatar
Marvin (hun)
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 3:01 pm
Location: Hungary

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by Marvin (hun) » Thu Sep 15, 2011 6:37 am

Thanks again for your help, hdmaster! I successfully modified the text of first 2 Sabre missions. I use tiny hexer and it shows the size of the selected part in hex, so this is a much quicker work than I thought at first time. :)

I didn't notice yet, but at the starting point of Brest map, the program doesn't show the objectives. I tested it with the original english files and got same results. Maybe is it a map bug?

hdmaster
Sergeant
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 9:31 pm
Location: Germany

Re: 4ds files hacked

Unread post by hdmaster » Wed Sep 21, 2011 12:44 pm

@Marvin: I forgot to mention that the values are stored in little endian so you have to read them backwards. So "00 01 0F B7" ( I padded it with zeros, because the value is an int which has always 4 bytes ) becomes "B7 0F 01 00". Yes, "32" for the 50 and "96" for 150 is correct.

Maybe Ilussion Softworks messed that up :lol:

@betteryouthanme:
Is the stair just invisible or completely missing?

Occluders are meshes which prevent the engine from rendering objects which are occluded by other meshes, have a look at http://www.lerk.de/2009/03/occlusion-culling/ for an example.

Well the option lets you choose whether the sector meshes are shown in the viewport. You can think of a sector as a room that has windows and doors ( or other "holes" like a hangar ). The sector prevents the engine to render all meshes that cannont by seen from inside a sector except through windows/doors.

This is the sector HL_m1_01 from Africa1 with the actual sector mesh ("sector HL_m1_01") hidden and all child nodes visible:
Image

And this is the sector mesh. Grey/black are areas defined as windows/doors, so that are the areas you can see trough
Image

Sector mesh and sector child nodes visible. The "holes" perfectly overlap with the windows and the door
Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


------------------------------------------

I've added a custom material to 3ds Max with all properties that can be set for H&D 2 materials so far. The new material supports also color keying which means that areas of a specific color appear transparent.

Image

And here's an example of color keying. The color field below the checkbox "Colorkey" displays the color thats being keyed out.

Colorkey off
Image

Colorkey on
Image

I've also fixed a few other things. The new update will be available soon

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests