Introduction and new DTA unpacker

This is the place to talk about everything and anything.
Jovan
Private

Introduction and new DTA unpacker

Unread post by Jovan » Fri May 30, 2008 1:28 pm

Hey all,

I'm an old-time H&D fan. This is my first time posting at this forum. I've known this site for a very long time along with the Gamespy one, very good fan sites :).

Now, onto the good stuff:

I've been speaking to Lars over the last two days and I wrote a new .dta unpacker. It supports both H&D2 and Mafia. You run the unpacker by providing it with the file you want, and the two keys it needs. I'm not sure if this was a better option than the other program, but it's more flexible because none of the files or keys are hardcoded. If you run the program without giving it the file or the keys, it will give you a list of keys it knows.

I tried to make the program fast, efficient, and bugproof. Let me know if you have any problems. Also, the other unpacker mentioned how the Missions.dta file could not be unpacked fully. After some testing I believe my unpacker extracts all the files.

You can download the unpacker here. Source code is included.

Onto the bad stuff:

Some of the files (especially H&D2:SS, and patches) use a different file format. These files cannot be opened at the moment unfortunately, but I will try to get them to work in the near future.

Let me know what you think about the program.
Last edited by Jovan on Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Lars
Commando

Re: Introduction and new DTA unpacker

Unread post by Lars » Fri May 30, 2008 3:00 pm

Works great and fast. Tested it with the hd2 dta´s. Be sure that you put your dta´s in another folder or it can be that your modifed maps will be overwritten cause it extracts to hd2\missions direct. Also be sure that you don´t mistype the keys or the prog will run in an endless loop with taking lots of ram. Ctrl+C will stop it than in case if you don´t know.